B7 to Em

Redeyejedi

Reaction score
beginner here:
i'm having trouble smoothly going to the Em from the B7 in a G, B7, Em, C, G run. i'm fingering the B7 and Em in the same way(4320 and 0432 -i think:p) and it seems it should be the easiest change but it ain't:mad:, it ain't happening at all for me. :(

What seems to be the trouble? It's the same finger shape just one string over.

Practice and be patient grasshopper.

that's what so frustration. i lift and land but one finger does something my brain didn't tell it to. always a different finger. i land on dims cleaner. and being so close to each other and same fingering i am really at a loss. almost didn't post cause i feel it should one of the easiest changes, but it's giving me hell in a handbag without a hot handle.

yea, that's what i've been doing.
also, if i hold neck in palm, squeezed sort of, i can lift all three and land(horribly). but if i support neck with thumb, it makes the lift land not fun for me. i will get it though.
which way is it better to support the neck; i've seen palming it and i see floating held by thumb...i don't wanna learn bad habits this early.

thank you for the responses....i may have to agree that i must add this to the chord change practice sheet.

Aha! You need a strap.

i have one. two actually, but find them(hole hooks) to be a bit awkward.

just glad you didn't say strapon.....coz then i'd be like...really? really?not even gonna buy me drink first?
:p

i will try the strap again.
practice and just reduce tempo to where i can find both chords blind

I barre my B7 and then just crunch up a big for the Em, with my index and middle finger.

B7 is one of the easiest chords to bar. Just bar the second fret and put your middle finger on the third fret on the 2d string. Sometimes its easier to make a completely different shape than to move over. It requires less precision in movement. Mostly though, just more practice.