Difficulty Barring chords

amnesiax

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newbie to the uke but I started playing recently and I've noticed that I have a very difficult time barring chords and I'm not exactly sure what I'm doing wrong. As everytime I attempt to barre a chord I tend to get some strings that mute or buzz.
I looked for advice and I saw something about lowering the action, is it something I should look into?
Also my uke is a Lanikai Lu22gcg if that helps in anyway

I looked for advice and I saw something about lowering the action, is it something I should look into?
A low action will help with the overall playing of your ukulele in general, not just barring chords. If possible, compare your instrument to another and/or get a second opinion. I'm not familiar with your specific instrument, but it would appear to not to be the cheapest option available so it shouldn't be unduly unplayable "as is".

Barring chords is a technique that does take practice ... quite a deal of practice for some chord shapes, and, IMHO, is possibly not something an absolute beginner should be spending too much time worrying about. Having said that, the advice in the video above is perfectly good, get your thumb behind the neck and barre with the second and third joints of your index finger. NB: This may involve "sitting up properly" and even using a strap to support the instrument so's your hands can get on with the business of playing without worrying about dropping the silly thing ;)

Good luck and remember, they call it playing the ukulele ... it shouldn't be hard work ;)

YMMV but enjoy the journey :)

http://youtu.be/gDpa5RJIK7E

drop Baby Drop is a great tune, and I ask you to youtube search it...everyone cool plays it. See their videos. Lol. It has three simple barre chords. The toot for it I have linked above. Just play it, over and over, and have fun and the barres will come. :)

PostScript.