My dog can't stand the sound of my ukulele.

mariegan7

Reaction score
I just started playing the ukulele this past June. When I start to play, my dog begins to sigh a lot and sometimes she leaves the room immediately. Do any of your dogs respond the same way? I keep my uke in tune and don't think my playing is too terrible for a beginner.

I had the exact same experience when I started less than a year ago. I've noticed my dog has not been leaving the room lately so I figure I must be improving!

Maybe the dog is just sighing because he/she knows once you pick up that Ukulele thing there's no hands left for patting? Pretty canny these canines if mine is anything to go by.

Fun thread! :D

I once tried playing for my dog, she didn't seem to like it. I wonder why, she loves me reading books to her. :)

I'll try again today...maybe she likes Low G!

We have one cat that hates ukulele sounds (even when it's not me playing; only live playing) and another one who loves it when someone starts playing the recorder (even when played very badly). She starts purring, rubbing and even drools. I'm thinking about a talent TV show with a cat jury now.

On a more scientific note, it only works with live music for both cats - recorded music doesn't do the trick. Something in the overtones, but still a clear personal preference as well...

Our dog doesn't seem to mind the ukulele too much, but she used to howl like crazy when my daughter played the cello.

My son was about 6 months old at the time, and the dog basically taught him to howl too. So when my daughter practised I had to shut the baby and the dog in the kitchen, where the two of them would just sit there howling like wolves.

God knows why I keep missing out on that mother of the year award...