PDA

View Full Version : My dog can't stand the sound of my ukulele.

mariegan7
10-26-2014, 06:19 PM
I just started playing the ukulele this past June. When I start to play, my dog begins to sigh a lot and sometimes she leaves the room immediately. Do any of your dogs respond the same way? I keep my uke in tune and don't think my playing is too terrible for a beginner.

vrgard
10-26-2014, 07:21 PM
I had the exact same experience when I started less than a year ago. I've noticed my dog has not been leaving the room lately so I figure I must be improving!

KaraUkey
10-26-2014, 07:56 PM
Maybe the dog is just sighing because he/she knows once you pick up that Ukulele thing there's no hands left for patting? Pretty canny these canines if mine is anything to go by.

g'est
10-26-2014, 08:20 PM
Fun thread! :D

I once tried playing for my dog, she didn't seem to like it. I wonder why, she loves me reading books to her. :)

I'll try again today...maybe she likes Low G!

ukulelekarcsi
10-26-2014, 09:55 PM
We have one cat that hates ukulele sounds (even when it's not me playing; only live playing) and another one who loves it when someone starts playing the recorder (even when played very badly). She starts purring, rubbing and even drools. I'm thinking about a talent TV show with a cat jury now.

On a more scientific note, it only works with live music for both cats - recorded music doesn't do the trick. Something in the overtones, but still a clear personal preference as well...

TheBathBird
10-26-2014, 10:16 PM
Our dog doesn't seem to mind the ukulele too much, but she used to howl like crazy when my daughter played the cello.

My son was about 6 months old at the time, and the dog basically taught him to howl too. So when my daughter practised I had to shut the baby and the dog in the kitchen, where the two of them would just sit there howling like wolves.

God knows why I keep missing out on that mother of the year award...

MountainUker
10-26-2014, 11:11 PM