uke falls down in some chord changes

Mixy

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am a uke beginner and I am pretty happy to have found this forum.

I have learned the chords individually and now I am trying to learn to switch between chords
If i have understood well, the neck of the uke should be resting on the web of your left hand (the side of the index finger). This works very well to play chords that need the same wrist twist (D, G...)

The problem I have is when i try to switch to other chords that need a different wrist twist, which don't allow having the uke resting on the left hand web... For example Em...

In summary, if I try to switch between G and Em, the uke falls down because I lose the support of the left hand against the neck

Thanks!!!

Hi guys,

I am a uke beginner and I am pretty happy to have found this forum.

I have learned the chords individually and now I am trying to learn to switch between chords
If i have understood well, the neck of the uke should be resting on the web of your left hand (the side of the index finger). This works very well to play chords that need the same wrist twist (D, G...)

The problem I have is when i try to switch to other chords that need a different wrist twist, which don't allow having the uke resting on the left hand web... For example Em...

In summary, if I try to switch between G and Em, the uke falls down because I lose the support of the left hand against the neck

Thanks!!!

What size Ukelele are you learning on ?

Don't support with the web, try to have thumb behind fretboard. Consider a strap, they're a big help.

Lots of people use straps for their ukuleles. If your ukulele doesn't have a strap button and you don't want to install one, consider trying the Uke Leash. I had a lot of problems holding my concert ukulele when I first started playing and a Uke Leash made a huge difference for me. Lori, who sells the Uke Leash, is a member of this forum and very easy to do business with.