Bruko neck construction question

DazW

Reaction score
Hi everyone, just a quick question about Bruko soprano necks. I'm new to building and am still in the stewmac kit phase. I do intend to get stuck in and build from scratch very soon.
I have a fairly clear idea of how id like my sopranos to look and really like the Bruko necks with frets directly into the neck, no separate fretboard.
Just wanted to ask the pros and cons of this style neck, best way to construct it and best type of neck join to body?
I have some Sapele and Meranti big enough for at least my first few necks. I presumed Id try a dovetail joint and one piece neck but am open to suggestions if anyone can make life easier?
Cheers

Hi everyone, just a quick question about Bruko soprano necks. I'm new to building and am still in the stewmac kit phase. I do intend to get stuck in and build from scratch very soon.
I have a fairly clear idea of how id like my sopranos to look and really like the Bruko necks with frets directly into the neck, no separate fretboard.
Just wanted to ask the pros and cons of this style neck, best way to construct it and best type of neck join to body?
I have some Sapele and Meranti big enough for at least my first few necks. I presumed Id try a dovetail joint and one piece neck but am open to suggestions if anyone can make life easier?
Cheers

Hi dazw! the consecuences of puting the frets directly into the neck, without fingerboard, are that if the neck are not made in hard wood, it is possible to wear it. You may respect the correct thickness of the neck, because the fingerboard also prevents the wood bend. The string action in the bridge zone will be low than with a fingerboard, and you have to make a "nut channel". The best way to do this (putting the frets into the neck) are in my opinion with the wood squared, before any shaping.

The more easy neck joint by hand is slotting the neck block and putting the sides in it. With a router machine, the dovetail.