I Am NOT a Music Snob!

JJFN

Reaction score
Good Evening Everyone, I like all types of music, from the classics to rap. Tonight while messing around I started playing some jazz tunes. I have to say these are some beautiful melodies with lush chord changes. Again I am not a snob. However when you compare some pop/rock tunes to jazz, they just don't stand up. As beautiful as the simplicity of a tune like Yesterday is, play Come Rain or Come Shine and see the difference. I guess what I am trying to say is that there is beauty in all genres of music, from the simple to the complex tunes. Also playing jazz tunes on my Kamaka Bari, low g, with Southcoast LL-NW's really helps. That's my rant for tonight. Have a great night. Dirk, you can send the check to my home address. LOL LOL!!

I too am a lover of many genres, simple to complex and am also struck by the beauty of some more complex jazz-based pieces and some old-timey songs with their pretty diminished chords. I haven't played much Jazz on my uke, but now that you mention it, I'm going to break out my bari and start with "Come Rain or Come Shine". thanks

I bring you a quote from Tad Williams.

“A teenage girl creaming while she listens to some boy-band, a monk digging on the God he hears in Gregorian chants, or John ****ing Coltrane himself climbing up into the sky on a staircase made of sixteenth notes, it's all the same. If it takes you there, it's good.”

Anyone who does not agree with that fits my definition of a music snob.

You asked for this when you posted.

I bring you a quote from Tad Williams.

“A teenage girl creaming while she listens to some boy-band, a monk digging on the God he hears in Gregorian chants, or John ****ing Coltrane himself climbing up into the sky on a staircase made of sixteenth notes, it's all the same. If it takes you there, it's good.”

Anyone who does not agree with that fits my definition of a music snob.

You asked for this when you posted.