Fingerstyle for beginners?

Vg12th

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I just bought my first ukulele not too long ago. As everyone, I started with learning strumming Jason Mraz's "I'm yours". These chucks are quite hard to get.
Anyway, for this topic I want to start a side project. I was wondering if you could recommend some easy fingerstyle songs for beginners? I know that many can learn fingerstyle in just a few days but I probably will take months for this so I want to make sure the song is worth it. Personally, I really like this cover of "Wonderful tonight" but I have no idea of its difficulty nor have access to any tabs. What do you think? Do you have other songs to recommend?

I am pretty new to finger style as well, and I have found it a little difficult to find tabs for finger style ukulele especially ones that are 'easy' enough are even harder to find.

I started pretty simple with this song:
http://www.ukulelerocks.co.uk/sailor.htm
(Drunken Sailor)

I learned the chords then the melody. Then I mixed the two.
I strummed on "what should you do with a"
and played melody on "drunken Sailor"

The color charts for the melody are pretty helpful, and the song is pretty satisfying to play, you get a song that sounds much harder to play than it actually is. (and it only has two chords and most of the melody notes are open)

When I felt comfortable with that I moved on to Take Me Out to the Ball game.
http://liveukulele.com/wp-content/uploads/Take-Me-Out-To-The-Ball-Game-Tab.pdf
And that was a little challenging at first but not too difficult.

Now that I am getting the hang of reading the Tab, I have started looking for melody from songs in a three chord Hal Lenard 3 chord songs for the ukue book I never found useful before, and am adding the chords to various parts of them.

I also look for simple melodies like Mary Had a little lamb and try to add the chords on the first beat of each measure.

Hope this helps.

Hi everyone,