Help in playing 1.375" nut ukes

DaveY

Reaction score
The other day I realized that in limiting myself to 1.5" nut width (tenor) ukuleles when most of them are 1.375" I am limiting the types of ukes I can buy and play. I'm more comfortable with the 1.5", and make more mistakes on the 1.375" one, but my question is:

Have any of you had to learn to play comfortably on the narrower (i.e., standard) nut ukes? How did you do it?

Have any of you tried but it didn't work?

Complicating this is that my one 1.375" uke is a Pono, which also has a thick neck and higher-tension strings, which also might be factors.

I only started playing fretted instruments (ukes) about seven years ago, and my technique is imperfect at best, but that's a different topic (or is it?).

I would think that using just 1.375 for a while and not playing your 1.5's would help you a bit. That way, your fingers can get used to the slightly different spacing and build up muscle memory. When I first started on A clarinet (usual is Bb) my professor told me to just play the A for several days - not pick up my Bb. It really helped. The A is just slightly longer and the keys/holes are just a wee bit further apart. It is amazing what a difference it feels like when you are trying to play, though.

Thanks, Ukejenny. This make sense, and reminds me that I recently had some trouble going from a Hohner harmonica to a Tombo/Lee Oskar one (in cleanly playing single notes), because of the difference in hole spacings -- even though I'd hardly played harmonica at all in the past 30 years (and the spacings have to be a really slight difference).

I'm selling the Pono (the one 1.375"-er that I have) and getting another one, so if anyone has thoughts on Pono necks & higher-tension strings (Mahana), that would be great, too, as I'd be buying a new Pono to practice on (rolling the dice).

UJ, I didn't even know there was an A clarinet -- I thought you had mistakenly capitalized the article "a"(!).