Question for uke builders

mornando

Reaction score
How did you get in to making ukuleles? I wouldn't know where to start!

Did you walk in to a Luthier shop and ask to be an apprentice? It doesn't look too easy to make one to be honest.

I was a luthier for about 40 years and built or participated in the building of about 3,200 guitars and basses and repaired well over 1,000 instruments before getting into ukes. Uke building has it's own quirks...the most interesting (to me) being that I can build, and especially make tops with woods I'd never consider for acoustic guitar tops. There are some different rules going on in the uke pitch range and with nylon (or gut) strings. Why did I get into it? I like uke people, and as a musician, I've been more able to advance as a jazz player than with guitar.

"Four strings; four fingers; you do the math."

Everyone will have a different story. As a kid I never stopped making things or taking things apart. In my early twenties I started to play guitar, soon I decided I'd make one: it was a classical guitar. I found a book 'The classical guitar' by McLeod and Welford-its still available. I heard of a couple of guys making acoustic guitars, visited them and bought some mahogany and spruce for the soundbox. Over the next couple of years I made 5 guitars. It took me 120 hrs each instrument and I was frustrated by my lack of musical ability, so making fizzled out.

Fast forward almost 40 years. I was trekking in NZ and met a guy with a uke. Later I decided to buy one. I found it was easy to play compared with a guitar. If I can make a guitar, I can make a uke went my thoughts.

So I made a mould, made a tenor and 10 months on I've made 6 more tenors, 2 sopranos, 2 small guitars and a few repairs-all for the fun of it. Its addictive.