Slide On Ukulele

rowjimmytour

Reaction score
I have two blues song books: Robert Johnson and Blues For Ukulele and I wanted to add slide so I bought my self one for Xmas. I have never tried slide before but I did fool around with a bottle one night to see how it sounds (that goes drinking and playing). Any how I was wondering if any one had any good advise or good tutorials to share they found healthful. Thanks and Happy Holidays:cool:

I have two blues song books: Robert Johnson and Blues For Ukulele and I wanted to add slide so I bought my self one for Xmas. I have never tried slide before but I did fool around with a bottle one night to see how it sounds (that goes drinking and playing). Any how I was wondering if any one had any good advise or good tutorials to share they found healthful. Thanks and Happy Holidays:cool:
One thing, tune the A down to a G.

Not absolutely necessary, but I'd prefer a low G string for slide, especially if you're using the open C tuning suggested by Rllink. Then you could also use an open G tuning GBDG.

How does that tuning affect chord positions?

You typically don't chord much when playing slide, apart from the I-IV-V chords you can form with the slide barring straight across the strings. When you play with the instrument on your lap or on a table, you usually hold the slide in your palm. If you play in normal position, you wear the slide on your ring finger or pinkie, so it's not usually available for chording, though if the slide is on your pinkie you can form three-finger chords easily enough with the other fingers. Also keep in mind that, when the slide is in use, at least one of the other fingers lays behind it on the same string(s) to keep that section of string from also vibrating and producing a raucous buzz or clatter.