New here, help me decide

scooterguitar

Reaction score
New here, help me decide: high-end or midline?

Hello everyone,
I've been a professional guitarist for 20 years, just decided to leanr the Uke after picking up a super cheap one earlier this week. I always lean towards high quality guitars, solid tops, etc, but on occasion I know there are those "rare" laminates that have a specialness to them.
I think I'm going with a concert.
I've read and read on here about different brands. There are no places even fairly close to try various models out, so I'll be mail order, likely that place on the bay.

I'd like to keep it around $150 for this first one, but am now thinking maybe up to $300. Thing is, I'm hooked on the tradiitonal uke look of dark wood/koa and such.
Any suggestions?

Last edited:
how about a Lanikai Flame MAple Concert

I received a flame maple Lanakai as a gift in December. It has a solid spruce top and flame maple laminate back and sides. Ebony fretboard and brand new Aquila strings.

I have another uke and am selling it. I think it will make a great intro. instrument. It has a bright sound and looks great..with abalone inlay around the sound hole.

Here's the Lanakai Link http://www.lanikaiukes.com/ukuleles.html#fms

I'll sell it with its case for $250.

Lots of good options in that price range: Kala, Ohana, Lanikai, Mainland, Fluke and Flea... and a few others I have a few reviews of ukes in that range on my website.

A suggestion: look to a solid top uke rather than a laminate. For the few extra dollars you will get a lot more out of the uke and won't want to upgrade as soon as with a laminate.

Thanks. I am looking at
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-HONU-SOLID-...16224QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1742.m153.l1262