G chord finger position

LuceAailgh

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm a beginner player, and I've been teaching myself some basic chords. I noticed that everywhere I look on the internet, and in my guide book, the g chord is held with the middle finger on the A string, and the pointer finger on the C string. I find it much, much easier to hold and slide the chord around, if I have these fingers reversed (middle finger on A string, pointer finger on C string), but I figured maybe there's a reason for this specific finger position? Should I just practice what's easier for me, or is there something I'm missing here? :)
How about other chords, does it matter much, if I find a way that's easier for me to hold, if I go and practice that method? Thanks :D

I use a different fingering altogether for a conventional G chord. It works for me.

I noticed that everywhere I look on the internet, and in my guide book, the g chord is held with the middle finger on the A string, and the pointer finger on the C string. I find it much, much easier to hold and slide the chord around, if I have these fingers reversed (middle finger on A string, pointer finger on C string)Thanks :D

Just FYI, on guitar that is a D chord, and James Taylor holds it the way you do. I have tried to do it his way, but I can't. So, my message is, do it like you do and don't look back.

I can't visualize what you are describing, but I'm a little dense sometimes. I can say that I often times play chords with different fingers than shown, and often times it will depend where I'm going next.

Last edited:
i reverse them also I guess and never thought about it. Now that you have me playing with it I have no clue how someone would make an easy G7 from the way they recommend it. I find it easy the way we have a G to just turn the wrist a bit and have G7 when pivoting on the middle finger(C string)