What makes someone an ‘intermediate’ player?

Kevs-the-name

Reaction score
I am looking at booking on to a residential weekend course. It looks great!

It is for intermediate level players...

how would you define as or consider someone to be an ‘intermediate player’?

It's subjective and there is no real definition - my recommendation is that you contact those who are presenting the course and ask. I've gone to "intermediate" workshops where the only requirement was to know five chords (C, G, F, Emi, and... something else); I've gone to "advanced" workshops where moveable chords were presented as if for the first time. This is all stuff I learned as an absolute beginner.

I play in an advanced/intermediate ukulele ensemble and while again it's subjective, the general expectation is that prospective members know barre chords, scales, and how to read tab.

Usually any kind of workshop or group that is called intermediate is pretty basic. Sometimes they will give a definition - like that you need to know 5 basic chords or read tab or whatever. If they don't I think it is safe to expect very basic. The suggestion to contact the organizers is a good one, but sometimes it's hard to get a good answer. But usually workshops are designed where "beginner" means "never picked up a uke before" and "intermediate" means "picked up a uke before and knows 3-5 chords).

Purely subjective and based on no reference.

You know the major chords open positions and their 7ths and minors and sharps and flats. Or at least most of them. You can strum and keep time with smooth chord transitions. You can read a chord chart cheat sheet of a song and pretty much play it on sight if you are familiar with the tune.

Anything beyond that, to me, is further up the ladder.

Somewhere between beginner and advanced ;p

But seriously, I think UU member Brad M(?) made up a very helpful critical analysis of what it could mean to be at the different levels.