Choosing a new soprano as a second uke - need help please

justin13

Reaction score
I have been playing for a few months (and silently stalking here for the same length of time) and am ready for a second uke. I have a Kala concert - nothing special, but I didn't want to jump in wallet first before I played. I have few local purchasing options in Maine, but I did play a Martin S1, and was blown away (so much better than my Kala). I have been looking long and hard at the KoAloha Opio, the Pono MSD and MS on HMS. My budget is right around $400.

Anyway - the Martin is the only "nice" uke I have played. From what I read, the others may be better, but I have no way to play them. I am going to call HMS today, but wanted to know if anyone can give me any feedback. I didn't find anything else exactly on point. Any help appreciated!

The Martin S1 is certainly a very nice uke in it's own rights, but the grass is always greener on the other side of the country, lol. The Opio is as good a sounding uke as there is for that money, I own the concert model. The Kiwaya ukuleles are also highly regarded and HMS sells those as well. Ponos sound nice as well, but I think their tenor models is where they really shine.

Jim had a great idea about putting up a WTB (want to buy) notice in the marketplace. State what you are looking for and your price range, many have found and bought great ukes doing this and your money will go 20%-40% farther than buying new.

Last edited:
Have been impressed by the S1. Another one to seek out used is a Kiwaya KTS-4. I'd also check out Ohana, who makes some great ukes for the money.