Learning how to play the Ukulele?

Saldawop

Reaction score
Am an absolute beginner when it comes to the ukulele, well any instrument.I want to learn to play properly and hopefully, at least competently.
I am finding that Im watching lots of instructional videos,for example one about the chords, then I will see another about chunking, then another about fingerpicking.I find myself trying all these different things.Different strumming patterns etc.But am I really learning?
Or should I follow one system,course,book and stick with it, learning one lesson at a time before moving on.
Do I need to start off learning all the chords? Scales? before worrying about playing something that sounds like a song?

Welcome to the wonderful world of ukulele. You have gone down the road many have before you, so much stuff available to learn it can be confusing and overwhelming. Just like learning any physical skill we must start out simple and withnthe basics. First we crawl, then we walk, then we run.

Download "Uncle Rods Bootcamp" it will give you a great starting point and all the proper things to practice. If you learn only down strums, then down up along with chords C, A, G, F Dm you will be able to play dozens and dozens and dozens of songs. From there you can expand your strummimg patterns and learn more chords. Find one or two songs you like that have 2 or 3 chords only. Start playing those songs as early on as possible because making music is what it is all about.

Have downloaded Uncle Rods bootcamp, but even there I am lost. Practice sheet #1 is in the key of C ,correct?
Then #2 is in the key of G ,but the chords are exactly the same,or rather in the same position on the frets, so what is different?
How do I ,as a beginner to music, learn how to change key?

Edit: Or have I totally misunderstood what "In the key of" means??

Last edited: