Opinions for this beginner

Riverpirate

Reaction score
I see a bunch of threads asking opinions on different ukuleles for beginner, but I found one i love with little info on it.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008L5RQCQ...=UTF8&colid=RZQI2WQIRNP&coliid=I3LRY2W12GJFTA

Its a off brand ( actually made under different names ). I am in love with this ukulele. I love the look and I love the sound in the very few videos I have watched. I am confused about the tuning of it. It has 2 extra frets for a tenor and the few opinions are talking about tuning it up or down. I have no clue about that stuff as I am very new to this. Can it just be tuned as a normal tenor ukulele and played in normal simple chords?

Also does anyone here have one and if so what is your opinion of it for a beginner. I tell you I love it so far , just dont want to waste money. I love different style ukulele's and would love something out of the ordinary.

My budget right now is $100-150 for the ukulele. I can get a bag later. I have already ordered a tuner.

aloha. I think it looks nice. appears to have competent tuners. not sure of the scale of the instrument. Only potential downside(besides scale issues) I can see off hand is that you can't use a neck style strap with that shape of sound hole. never heard this instrument though let alone see it.

Last edited:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSYdRiSZY2I#t=40

This is a video of a seasonista Jazzbanjorex playing the same instrument ....in my opinion ,if it's good enough for him ...it's good enough...and if it is singing out to ya...then buy it...you get an itch , despite what Mummy says , you have to scratch it.....

most instruments choose you ...you don't choose them...and kudos for liking something a bit out of the ordinaire...

http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/member.php?70820-Jazzbanjorex

PM him and ask ..tell him I sent you ...he'll understand and stamp on my favourite uke....nah seriously ..he'll tell you the skinny....