Looking for new Concert Uke- Blackbird Clara?

vcs700s

Reaction score
I have been playing for about 3 months and have owned and played the tenor, concert and soprano scale. I have decided that the 15" scale works best for me. I am keeping my new Kala Concert uke and a couple Kala soprano ukes with concert necks.

I have scoured the internet and especially this forum. I would like to take the plunge with a really nice concert uke. I have considered all the "K" brands but the Blackbird Clara seems to be a front runner based on much of what I have read here.

There are some who own very high end ukes, including Collings, but if they had to choose it would be the Clara.

Unfortunately, there is nowhere in No. VA to play one. This would be a real leap of faith to drop the money on one so I need some help.

Would this be a good move? I would probably get the one without the pickup as I have no need to amplify currently. Blackbird seems like a solid company and I love the sound of this uke. I would restring it to high G as that is my preference.

Other suggestions are welcome!

Help please!

Last edited:
vcs700s, I think you'd really like the Blackbird. I had mine strung re-entrant with Aquila Reds and it sounded fantastic. I only sold it because I'm limited on how many ukes I can have and am not yet done exploring. It is an absolute certainly I will have another one.

The retailer on FMM is Dixie Ukes, which is where I got my Clara. Full disclosure, while I am not employed by Dixie Ukes I helped George out a by representing him at a west coast 'uke festival. I've purchased 4 ukes from him and been quite happy. He offers a trial/return period like most retailers.

I don't know if you saw this.

https://www.fleamarketmusic.com/marketplace/

As of now, it is the 4th listing. It is a retailer, so the sales/return policy may be different than a purchase from an individual.

Hope this helps.