A question of scale

deejayen

Reaction score
I’m a guitarist looking to buy my first uke, and doing a fair amount of research before buying.

I’ve noticed that often when I see photos of soprano or concert ukes they appear to be bigger than they actually are! This is especially true with arty photographs showing off fancy builds with flash woods. Without a visual reference my eyes seem to imagine they’re looking at something roughly guitar-sized, but each time I see a uke in a music shop I’m reminded how dinky they actually are.

I suppose I just need to see and play a few to get used to them, and to be able to easily differentiate between a soprano and a concert.

Generally speaking, the soprano is the 'original' sized
ukulele (and naturally,the choice of gentlemen) The
Concert is a couple of inches longer and suits many
players,and the tenor is slightly bigger again. The
baritone is getting on for a half sized guitar,and is
tuned the same as the top four strings of a guitar,
where soprano,concert and tenor are usually tuned
g-C-E-A. Plenty of advice about tuning online,and
a few tuners too; but as you have worked out, your
best option is to get among a few ukes in a decent
shop or supplier,and try out what feels best for you!
Good hunting and enjoy the discovery!

There are several sizes of ukuleles including sopranino, soprano, concert, tenor, and baritone. Scale lengths vary by size and maker:

Sopranino - Approx 11"
Soprano - Approx 13"
Concert - Approx 15"
Tenor - Approx 17"
Baritone - Usually 19" or 20"

Coming from a guitar background, you might like a baritone with the longer scale length. Baritones are usually tuned DGBE like a guitar but many tune them up to GCEA like all of the other ukulele sizes.

Try them all if possible. You'll find a size that best suits you.

Many modern sopranos have a scale around 13.625-13.75 inches or so.

As you get deeper into ukulele you'll also find there are long neck models - e.g. concert neck/scale on a soprano body.