CA born, HI raised, living in MA - Hello!

azsheeyan

Reaction score
Hi there!

I'm new to this site, but the ukulele and I are old friends! My grandmother taught me how to strum basic chords from when I was very young (it was a great way to pass the time sitting under shabby tarps during the random thunderstorms). She used to write songs for me to hula dance to; I miss those days, and playing the uke makes me feel close to her again. When I moved away for college, I lost touch, because I had only ever played with her. Now... errrr... many years have gone by, more than I'd want to admit, and I've picked it up again with a new appreciation for all the things she taught me. Actually, I found I enjoyed it so much that I started playing at open-mic nights and hospitals for recreation therapy with my girlfriend.

I want to keep moving forward and sharing the musical experience, but I am currently a PhD student in the biochemistry field and don't have a lot of time (no time to be exact) to go to group meet-ups. I also want to hear constructive criticism - all of my friends are very positive, but that's what they're there for. I need honesty to improve. I also just find that ukulele people are awesome. I found this website through r/ukulele, and I'm really excited to share some of my songs and stuff! So here I am!

Welcome to UU! I think you will like it here. If you would like feedback on you playing, feel free to join The Seasonistas! It's a subforum over in the UU Contests area. It's weekly challenges with themes. We post YouTube videos and give each other feedback. I just recently joined and its been a lot of fun. Here is a link. We are in Season 152.

http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/forumdisplay.php?47-Seasons-of-the-Ukulele

Welcome! What part of MA are you in? I was born and raised in and around Lynn. That's where my grandmother taught me ukulele. I'll be making the pilgrimage back there in a year or so with my wife. Happy uking!