some will think me insane

NukeDOC

Retired Mod
Reaction score
so some here know of my obsession with slotted headstocks... among other things. well some here also know that ive been toying with the idea of converting a conventional peg style headstock into a slotted one.

got up this morning and bugoy asks me if i wanted to check out some new stores he found out about that carried ukuleles. needless to say... ROAD TRIP. we get to this little mom and pop shop and i started playing their "higher" end ukes. mostly kalas. and all tenors. i was actually hoping to find a nice concert. so i turn around and the "cheaper" ukes are on the adjacent wall almost hiding behind all the guitars. i pick up this little makala ukulele and play it. nothing special. checked the intonation, looked it over, noted the $50 price tag, and bought it with the intention of turning it into a completely different one-of-a-kind ukulele by the end of the weekend.

soon as i got home with her, i ripped the strings off, pulled the tuners off, and started working on her. also shaved the saddle down a bit to bring the action just a little lower. did the work i needed to do, reinstalled the tuners, restrung with aquilas, reshaped the saddle, and now i have this...
DSC00211.jpg

DSC00213.jpg

DSC00214.jpg

this was the prototype. so the workmanship isnt as great. but i wanted to prove that it could be done. and i did just that. hahaha. i now own the ONLY makala 4 string ukulele with slotted head.

Very impressive! I love your do-it-yourself spirit! :D

So my question is.... what does it sound like after surgery?

yes, i would like to know too :D
when i first saw that picture that said "makala," i was thinking, did nuke just slap on another custom headstock job and change his "kala" to a "makala" (as in sounding like MY kala hehe).

yes, i would like to know too :D