Daniel Ho's comment about friction tuners

Kayak Jim

Reaction score
Speaking of compensated saddles (in the recent thread), I was just reading Daniel Ho's article in the Spring 2015 Ukulele magazine (the one with Victoria Vox on the cover). There he says:

“It is highly unlikely that you'll find a compensated saddle on a ukulele with friction tuners because their 1:1 ratio makes it virtually impossible to tune the open strings, which are the fundamental pitch references.” (italics mine)

Now I’m neither an advanced player nor a luthier but this was surprise to me on two fronts- that it is “impossible” to tune a uke with friction tuners, and that there is no reason to use a compensated saddle in that case.

Huh? Help me out here.

Hi Kayak Jim,

I am no expert by far, but my Kiwayas with a compensated saddle and friction tuners appear to tune fine.

“It is highly unlikely that you'll find a compensated saddle on a ukulele with friction tuners because their 1:1 ratio makes it virtually impossible to tune the open strings, which are the fundamental pitch references.” (italics mine)

Um...pardon?

could you repeat that.jpg

This is one man's opinion and not a very accurate one, it doesn't even make sense.

Daniel Ho is an extremely accomplished musician and producer. I sincerely doubt he is misinformed. I wonder if he is turning to an entirely different accuracy level and therein lies the rub.

He may seek a higher accuracy level but his statement is about the availability of ukes with both friction tuners and a compensated saddle. My Kiwaya has both. Of this I am certain. I may have a low level of accuracy in tuning but I can see just fine.

Speaking of compensated saddles (in the recent thread), I was just reading Daniel Ho's article in the Spring 2015 Ukulele magazine (the one with Victoria Vox on the cover). There he says: