The thumb- “is it, do as I say or is it do as I do”?

kokopellime

Reaction score
As a newbie, I seek the sage advice of experienced players and I've found a quandary regarding the placement of the thumb.

Most tutorials advise that you should place the thumb of your fretting hand on the back of the neck (a page from classical guitar as I understand it). That in doing so, you give support and increase the extension of your fingers over the strings. In having hands on the average to smaller size coupled with finger stretching challenges, I’m making an effort to follow that advice. Despite so, I find from time to time that my thumb migrates and I wind up cupping the neck – a no, no.

This brings me to my query and subject of this thread. Like in my own case, despite this advice, I often see players, including those who've suggested the thumb on the back position, seemingly violating it, as their thumb peaks out from behind the neck.

So what’s the dealio? I realize that some might respond “do what works for you” and I accept that, but I want to develop good habits as I learn and would appreciate hearing from the community on this.

One of the things I love about the uke is that while there is a technique and pedagogy to playing, it seems as if the instrument is versatile enough to not be so strict with certain conventions in classical guitar and other instruments. Some chords absolutely need the finger arch required with the thumb behind the neck, whereas other chords and transitions it makes total sense to kind of cup around the neck.

I say if it feels comfortable to you (no pain or tension), and you are able to ring the chord cleanly, that is all that counts.

I shift my thumb around a bit when playing, but I do find that keeping it on the back makes things like barre chords much easier. It is a good habit to get into.