Do-It-Myself Pocket Uke Set-Up?

Papa Tom

Reaction score
I'm scratching at the door waiting for my new Tom Pocket Uke to arrive any day (it's due two days from now, at the earliest). In the meantime, I've been reading some comments about how the nut is often too high on this instrument. This sounds like something that will bug me a lot, even though I am fully aware it's a $37 toy.

I've never had a set-up on any of my three other ukes, let alone do a set-up myself. However, given the nominal price of the Tom, I am thinking that, if the nut needs to be filed a bit, I don't want to pay someone a hundred dollars or so to do it.

So...can anybody point me to the right tool, and maybe provide some tips? Can I simply use a sheet of sandpaper?

(All you hardcore luthier-types: Please go easy on me. I'm just a former drummer who took to the uke late in life, got pretty good at it fast, but knows almost nothing about the construction of stringed instruments!)

Would probably do better in Tech Support Forum

Removing the nut to sand the bottom is very bad information in my opinion.

Try this:

or...

For about $4 you can get a set of welding tip cleaners ("Blue Hawk" brand) at Lowes or some other big box hardware store. The tips come in a tin, are of various sizes and are perfect round files for filing nut slots. Have been using these welding tips for quite a while in setting up my stringed instruments based on a recommendation I got over at a mandolin forum I visit a lot. The tips make a rounded slot bottom which prevents any grabbing or pinching of the nylon string.

i second steve there with the torch tip cleaners. Make sure not to widen the slots, that adds buzz. Keep baking soda and thin ca glue around just in case you need to fill and refile. Just dropping some ca glue into a pile of baking soda is fun by itself, make sure to have good ventilation...