Uke tuning

sammich

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to the Uke and to this forum. One question I have is about the standard tuning of the ukulele - GCEA. Does anyone know the reason for this? I haven't seen any advantage for chords or soloing (being a guitar and bass player since about 1968, quite the contrary for me, actually). Even the violin and mandolin use the guitar's EADG, albeit in the opposite direction. And for that matter the baritone ukulele uses the guitar's upper string sequence of DGBE. Just curious if anyone has some insight on the subject. (And I'll keep trying to remember that what used to be an A chord is now a D, and what was a D is now a G, etc....) :eek:

And on the lighter side, just so you don't think I'm some total whiner, I find my little concert model a lot of fun. It's size makes it a lot more "handy" to just have out for impromptu practice anytime, anywhere. And you can't help but smile when you hear its plucky voice.

I don't know the answer to your question. I'm a guitar player that started playing uke in October. I found it to not be as confusing as I initially thought. I just made a point to not compare it to guitar.

I used to ask the same question. Coming from guitars and mandolins, and used to swapping from one instrument to the other, had no allegiance to GCEA. I finally swapped all my ukes to fifths tuning to match up with my mandolins, tenor guitar and tenor banjo. That made everything "comfortable."

For me it's not about the ease of chording etc - the re-entrant tuning of an ukulele (with the outer two strings being the highest) is what makes an uke sound like an uke and not a small guitar.

Sammich, I agree--coming from guitar, the tuning on a ukulele is different, all right. But it's not a guitar. All the same, when I just bought my first "good" ukulele, I got a tenor and had it strung with a low G. This way, it still sounds like a ukulele and it's still small, but it's not quite as plinky or toy-like.