Inversions, Shapes and Positions

pluck

Reaction score
I'm still pretty new to the ukulele. One thing I keep bumping into and can't quite get used to is (what appears to me to be) the use of the word "inversion" when actually talking about chord shapes and positions. In normal music theory "inversion" usually implies some specific concern for the relative positions of the notes within a chord. On the uke, we speak of changing inversions with no concern or even awareness of whether we are moving, say, from a first to third inversion or an noninverted voicing to a second inversion. We don't really care about the specific inversions but we seem to talk about inversions all the time. Seems to me it would be better to just say changing shapes.

I first noticed this looking thru Brad Bordessa's book. He keeps talking about "inversions" but nowhere did I notice him mentioning what inversions the specific shapes actually use.

Like I said, I'm kind of new so maybe I have things all messed up. If so, I'm sure someone will let me know.

Maybe I'm just being priggish. It happens.

Thanks.

I think that honestly they might mean just different chord positions and these chord positions throw up different .."inversions " or structures of the order the notes are played in..

GCEC 0001 1st position C

CEGC 5433 2nd position C....as you say just changing shapes.....I don't it really make much difference on a trebly little ukulele and sometimes believe that far too much theory is thrown at it ....but that's me happy as a pig in muck.....get as far as the 7th etc on a soprano...it really does not make a difference and beyond the 12th , well I think that I'm lucky to just keep the fingers of left and right hands apart ....:shaka:

I think that they mean chord position shapes....the inversion comes with the shape....

:uhoh:

Last edited: