DIY - First Time Undersaddle pickup project

kissing

Reaction score
First off - disclaimer - I'm no luthier or woodworker.
I'm just a hobbyist who has done some tinkering with ukuleles and this is my first time actually installing pickups myself onto ukuleles that did not originally come with pickups. The only woodworking teaching I have had is some woodworking classes from back in junior highschool.

I chose to do it on cheap ukuleles (Kealoha laminate baritone and a Tom Mini ukulele), and the method I used may not be ideal from a professional sense.

Firstly, I drilled some holes.
I already had a electric power drill at home, but I did go to a hardware store to buy the drillbit which seemed to be the appropriate size I needed:

Here are the parts that I ordered on eBay.
My searches were along the lines of "Artec ukulele pickup" and "No solder guitar jack". Only because I don't have much experience with soldering, and it's not a skill that I'm eager to learn just yet.

These plug-in type connections seem to work fine though.

The Artec undersaddle unit cost me about $6.80 and the input jack about $7.80 on eBay.

I am particular about the undersaddle unit being "Artec" brand, because out of the many undersaddle units I've played around with, it is the one that gives the best results. Unless of course, you want to invest into expensive branded pickups such as Shadow, Fishman, etc. As far as I'm concerned, the Artec units are just as high quality and they are original manufacturer pickups that are used in some expensive instruments (eg: Ovation).

The drillbit I used was unfortunately not quite big enough to fit the input-jack unit, so I had to file it a bit to widen it:

Continued below:

Last edited:
Then I drilled another hole using a smaller drillbit on the saddle/bridge part of the ukulele and I insert the piezo unit into the hole: