Learning Tab

VegasGeorge

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I've been a musician all my life, and play other instruments reading music. But, I'd like to learn to play (sight read) Ukulele by tab. Can you recommend a specifically "tab" method book that starts off easy, and winds up advanced? I'm thinking of a book written for the purpose of developing tab reading skills, rather than just a songbook.

If you are serious, just download tabbed songs and play. You'll get better fast.

I've tried that already, and gotten discouraged. I guess the songs I want to play are just too advanced in tab. I play them all the time using chord symbols and improvised picking and strumming, even picking out some melody and bass lines by ear. But someone else's tablature for the same song is too much for me. I need some organized method allowing me to start off reading tab for Mary had a little lamb, and working up to Rhapsody in blue.

One thing more. My goal here isn't to learn what tab means, or to be able to sit down and struggle through a tabbed piece over and over again until my fingers and brain remember how it goes. I can already do that. I want to be able to sit down with a tabbed song that I've never played before, and simply play through it by sight reading the tab the same way I can sight read music on my other instruments. It's my idea that a structured method book would give me a short cut toward achieving that goal.

One thing more. I want to be able to sit down with a tabbed song that I've never played before, and simply play through it by sight reading the tab the same way I can sight read music on my other instruments.