Are these Aquila strings ?

ErnieElse

Reaction score
Hi All,

My first post on this forum so be gentle with me :)

I've just bought two new ukes, a soprano Risa stick and a tenor Ohana TK 35CG. Both were bought on line and both were advertised with Aquila strings as standard.

I have no experience at all with Aquilas, my older instrument being strung with Worth browns which I like a lot.

The strings on the Risa soprano are off-white/cream in colour and opaque not at all transparent. They have a matte finish so are not shiny or glossy. They are very smooth to run my fingers along and very gut-like in appearance. They are what I imagined Aquila Nylgut would feel like and are a joy to play.

However, the strings on the Ohana tenor are shiny bright white with the thinner strings being partially transparent. The feel is smooth but much more resistant and sticky when I slide my fingers across them and they look and feel much closer to a man-made substance such as fluorocarbon or nylon rather than gut. They are quite different to the Risa soprano strings and are horrible to play.

Based on my description above, and taking into account the different sizes of instrument, different tensions and so possibly different string types, do both these sets sound like they are Aquilas ? If not, which if either sounds more like the Aquilas that so many players are using with great enthusiasm ?

I am a little concerned that if this part of the Spec of the Ohana has changed from that advertised (even though Ohana have told me they are still using Aquilas) then what else might have changed too.

Alternatively I am concerned that something may have changed with the set-up after the TK 35CG left the factory even though I bought this instrument from a very reputable dealer here in the UK.

Finally, perhaps I am just being paranoid and both these sets are correct even thought they look and feel so different.

Very many thanks for any replies.

Ernie