cedar top vs spruce top uke

diggersmom32

Reaction score
I am still very new to playing ukulele. I'd like advice on cedar top and spruce top ukes under$400. Are there well-built ones available? Are they solid wood or laminate back and sides? Does Spruce top have a softer, fuller sound?

Definitely look at mainland ukuleles. They have a red cedar top and a spruce top both under $300. Solid wood and very nicely done rope purfling.

I owned the red cedar and when I was first deciding I asked mike over at mainland about the two - he mentioned the spruce sounds a little fuller to his ears and the cedar is a little more crisp. Though I never heard the spruce the red cedar I owned had great volume, punch, and was indeed very crisp. After a month it really settled in and the tone started to round out. It's a very nice option, and would imagine the spruce to be a nice option too.

Keep in mind the above quote and impressions are specific to a certain brand, and that a different brand/builder will yield completely different results if they offer cedar and spruce in their line.

Mainland. GREAT ukes, awesome folks, and reasonably priced.

I owned the red cedar and when I was first deciding I asked mike over at mainland about the two - he mentioned the spruce sounds a little fuller to his ears and the cedar is a little more crisp.
To my ears, it's the other way around. Spruce is brighter and crisper, while cedar is warmer and fuller.

Also, cedar is a softer wood. It will "open up" sooner than spruce.