What's the best price for a ukulele

Hluth

Reaction score
For those who build ukuleles to sell them, one of the important things to consider is the price point. I can think of two categories that are at play: basic ukes where your volume is greater than your price and high-end ukes where your price is greater than your volume. I sell between 40 -45 ukuleles a year for an average price of about $1400. Looking at the big picture, that is a mid to high price point. Kamaka, Collings and others sell their instruments at an average price a little higher than this. Imported ukes have risen to about $250. Custom builders can go considerably higher, but have to work longer to develop a market. This means I have to make about one each week and am limited to the amount of trim and finish I can afford to use. I have chosen this price point because I’m relatively new to the market and at 67 years old, I don’t have the luxury of developing a solid custom market with time. I believe that a good handmade uke is worth more than a Collings, but it’s sometimes hard to find customers who understand that. Here’s a picture my latest offering, it’s a baritone that took just under a week to build and sells for $1450.

HBM1002a.jpgHBM1002b.jpgHBM1002c.jpg

I prefer to make fewer, but more expensive instruments. I could make 100 cheap instruments per year and get the same at the end but there is enough crap in the world.

ps- your uke looks nice!- i like that Kay Kraft guitar like shape

Last edited:
Thanks for the compliment Beau, but I think K craft's are really ugly guitars

Lovely looking beast. I wish I could afford to splash out on something so lovely. I'll have to just stick to my mass produced models till the lottery win :)

It must be hard being a maker if you are building in a vacuum. In other words, not building to order. Do you just build and then hope to sell, or do you only build when someone has expressed an interest?