Couple Uke questions

Rootbeer

Reaction score
I'm new to ukuleles and new to music and instruments in general. I tried a chromatic harp but it didn't suit me. I think I might have more fun strumming a uke. I'm in India and wonder what models are recommended? I have a budget of 120 usd or 6000 inr. I saw Hohner ULU21s selling for that amount but if it's the same as lanikai lu21, then it's too overpriced for my tastes. The only other ukulele I saw online is ibanez iuks5 kit, which sells for that price too. I'm going to the instruments shop to see if they have ukuleles.

Also, as a classical music fan, will I find the range too limiting?

I think the Ukulele is a good choice for a musical beginner. But, you need to realize the instrument's capabilities to avoid disappointment. Although it is entirely possible to play melodies and classical style music on the Ukulele, those techniques are more advanced. As a beginner, you will be producing harmony chords with your strumming, and you will have to hum or sing any melody you want to go with them. The Uke will teach you basic music theory, chords, rhythms, tempo, etc. How far you go with it is entirely up to you. As far as the choice of instrument is concerned, read the reviews on this forum. There are a number of OK Ukes available in your price range.

Good luck. The little bit I could find regarding availability of ukes in India would suggest your price limit will also limit your choices. What you have seen is about all you can get for that kind of money. I don't know what part of India you are in, but would mail order from Thailand be an option for you?

Last edited: