The Chicken or the Egg

JJFN

Reaction score
I guess this is one of those questions. I just watched a great duo of Aldrine and another gentleman. While watching I noticed that their fingers reached from the tuners to the sound hole. Obviously I am exaggerating, but you get my point. My question is, are those long fingers something you are born with or has ukulele playing shaped the fingers? I remember watching Chuck Berry and Richie Havens, and they could almost barre the guitar with their thumb. So is it born with or acquired?

Great question!

I used to think that to be a good player one had to have those long, slender "guitar player fingers" because I noticed them on so many excellent players. But when I started playing ukulele, I soon realized that some of my favorite players had stubby little hands - look at videos of the late John King, or Herb Ohta Sr.

As for playing shaping the fingers - I've got bent pinkies (fifth digit clinodactyly, for what it's worth) that definitely made things a bit difficult at first since the curvature of my pinky really restricts my left-hand reach. But over the years I've noticed that my left pinky is now a bit straighter than my right one, which doesn't get used in the same way. It's not a huge change - I'm not going to magically acquire long, slender, straight fingers - but it's a definite improvement.

So, I suppose that's my long-winded way of saying I think the answer to your question is "both."

I think having long, slender fingers is a benefit when playing stringed instruments, but not a necessity. I, too, have noticed how many technically excellent players have them. Watch Mike Marshall sometime-- his hands are huuuuge!

While I don't think playing an instrument will change the shape of your fingers, it will help you build strength and flexibility. When I rub my girlfriend's neck, she is amazed at how strong my fingers are...30 years of playing musical instruments finally got me a girl!