How Playing Music is Good for Your Brain

Thanks for posting this; I've been reading and thinking about this sort of thing a lot lately as I face a certain upcoming milestone birthday :)

The topic is also addressed in the book Guitar Zero, which I highly recommend to anyone who has chosen to take up an instrument in adulthood.

I think Ive seen this mentioned recently.

Why not just do this?

This thread is very, very interesting. I teach music in college. We educate primary school teachers. In a school system where the arts are under constant attack by people and politicians who do not see such activities as 'useful' in the same way as, say, maths, the music teachers-to-be need these sorts of arguments to defend the importance of their chosen subject. Music is also a crucial element in the development of each and every one's personal and social identity. A lot of research has been, and is being, done on such matters. It is indeed important.

I started playing in the school band on clarinet in 3d grade at 8 years old - that was 55 years ago. I stayed in the school band through high school and played guitar through college and beyond. In adulthood I took up saxophone and flute as well as clarinet and now uke. My elementary school music teacher - Mr. Schuller was a wonderful man and teacher who really knew how to relate to and inspire young children. My middle school band teacher Mr. Joseph was more demanding and a little gruffer, but very kind and an inspiring musician. My high school band teacher, Mr. Treu had a wonderful gift for keeping young people involved.