Progress.........it can go unnoticed

DownUpDave

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I started playing uke almost one year ago. Two to three months in I was doing well, lots of chords learned, some strumming patterns and attending three regular uke jams helped my development. I remember coming across songs that I liked and wanted to play but did not have the skill set to tackle them back then.

I was going through my song book and it occured to me I have mastered a lot of those songs now and it just seemed to happen over time.
*Beatles: When I'm 64, Blackbird, Penny Lane
*Hotel California, with the arrpeggo chord progession at the begining. I actually have that written down from a post Old Phart made about 7 months ago detailing it. I could not arreggiate back then to save my life.
* Ain't She Sweet. Man oh man I remember first seeing that early on with all those chord changes.

There are many others but the point is progress comes slow but steady if you keep at it. All you new people out there go read "Guitar Zero" for a great perspective on how we learn, what it takes and the fact anyone can learn.

What songs and or progress have you made over the last while, that as you look back on your improvements it kind of surprises and astounds you. It might be as simple as swiching from Dm to E7 or finally nailing D DU UDU. The trick to life is to celebrate the small victories because it is mostly a string of small victories that lead to success

Last edited:
I was mostly a mellow thumb strummer. Watching world class players pick, picking seemed interesting. So I think between UU+ and other video's, my picking has improved greatly. I am still having trouble changing from picking to strumming. But then that mantra kicks in " practice practice practice."