Vorson electric ukulele truss rod doesn't work?

kissing

Reaction score
I have spent some time tinkering with the Vorson steel-string electric ukulele to get the playing action feel better.

Basically, the stock setup is very high, with the strings measuring about 3mm at the 12th fret (that's the average string height on classical guitars!). I managed to get the action down to about 2mm at the 12th fret by setting the bridge screws as low as possible.

I wanted to adjust the truss rod, but I can't get it to work.
Mind you, I have plenty of experience with truss rods. At first I thought that perhaps this truss rod has an unusual hex-key diameter. So I went to the hardware store and bought an entire set of Hex keys.

However, now I don't think it is as much as the Hex-key not fitting, but the truss rod being angled at the headstock in such a way that wood gets in the way of the hex key fitting at a straight angle.

Have any other Vorson electric users had success adjusting the truss rod?

I can't comment on the Vorson in particular, however the first thing you must assess when intending to adjust the truss rod is, is the issue something that CAN be fixed by adjusting the truss rod?

Is the neck bowing up in such a way that straightening it would help or is it just fitted at the wrong angle to begin with?

Anthony

As I have stated, I am familiar with truss rod adjustments.
The neck currently has a tiny bit more relief than what I prefer. I have been doing setups on ukes and guitars for years, so I am not seeking advice on what to do with a truss rod. I am looking for specific advice on how to get this truss rod to actually work.

I am having trouble with getting a Hex key actually fitting into the truss rod.
I want to know whether this is simply a design flaw in the Vorsons in general, or whether I actually have a dud.