Amp question?

Icelander53

Reaction score
I have a Behringer 15 watt acoustic and a Vox Mini 5. I just got a new electric uke and something strange is happening. When I play on the Vox and I let the Low G string just sustain after playing it it gets louder and then starts buzzing. This didn't happen when I started playing it yesterday, but just now today and to make it more confusing it doesn't happen at all on the Behringer. So I'm, guessing it's a Vox issue because that guy does make noise in general plugged in but on batteries is very quiet. I use batteries. Any ideas here??

UPDATE: So I just fiddled around with the settings on the Vox and the issue went bye bye. So I'm going to say that the issue is now a non starter but I'm going to have to keep and eye on that amp so it behaves.

I'm going to leave this up rather than deleting it just in case I'm wrong here. I'm a rank beginner when it comes to electric.

Last edited:
Feedback on that one frequency. Fiddle with the EQ or notch filter and it should go away. Try moving away from the amp too.

Thanks I've got a lot to learn so there will be a stream of dumb questions for several weeks at least. :cheers:

I did mute the string by hand but then the buzz came back even louder when I removed my hand as softly as possible. Something was weird in that configuration of effects I choose because it seems to be ok now. I'll continue to monitor the situation.

Well then I've done something worthwhile for someone besides myself and for that I'm grateful. You know this is likely an age/experience thing. When young I'd prefer to live in ignorance rather than appear not to know something. I'm pretty much over that. Even with pretty women. I really am old I guess. :(

:D

I have a free audio spectrum analyzer app on my smartphone called Frequnsee. You can immediately see the culprit feedback frequency and notch it out using a device like a Behringer ADI21 or a graphic equalizer or parametric EQ. Ric

Last edited: