a string question

Bucksnort

Reaction score
I am new to ukulele and am currently playing a tenor makala. I love it. I know it is entry-level but the little sweetie sings for me.

I also have a few other stringed instruments I have accumulated...a cigar box guitar, a guitar-style dulcimer and a few other things.

The guitar that is the subject of this post I have a pic of but I just can't figure out anything more complex than two tin cans and a string. The following pic is a copy of my guitar a fellow made after seeing it. Mine is much older but basically the same. The man who made this duplicate makes high-end cigar box guitars. He calls it Old Lowe's as that is the fellow who had the original that I now have.

http://www.cigarboxnation.com/photo/old-lowe-s-resonator-guitar?context=user

So now to my point. It is tuned with steel guitar strings DGBD, plectrum banjo style. I am wondering how it might work out if I put some variation of ukulele strings on it.

The nut to bridge length is 24 inches. I am thinking about some kind of re-entrant tuning like a tenor or just going for baritone ukulele strings. I can get baritone by tuning the high D to E, but the steel strings are much harder on my fingers than ukulele strings.

I am interested in thoughts concerning this idea. Am I missing something basic? Would tenor re-entrant strings or baritone strings work well with this? I would like some guidance before I spend too much money on experimenting as I really don't know what I am doing.

Last edited:
24" scale length is very much a guitar scale length. Baritone ukulele strings, if cut to length for that particular instrument, are going to be for around a 19" scale. So I wouldn't buy anything that is packaged as baritone ukulele or tenor strings specifically. Although, those sets do contain the same strings that are used on nylon strung guitars sometimes.