total beginner strumming

doyuke

Reaction score
I've never played the guitar before and I just started the uke a few days ago. When you're using a pick, are you supposed to just shake your right hand continuously up and down, hitting and missing the strings depending on the rhythm you want? and what do you call that? strumming? stroking?

When you are learning to strum, keep it simple at first and learn the basics. Don't try to do fancy strums until you have mastered the simple ones.

Try to strum the strings evenly and accurately.

Don't move your arm much at all. Even your hand should not move up and down very much. It is more of a rotation of the hand.

I agree with Ken, you don't want to get too far ahead of yourself. The idea is first and foremost to get a smooth strum up and down. The motion should be mostly in your wrist. (You're already likely to be using your arm to hold the uke up anyway.) It's going to be mostly a matter of muscle memory and learning to coordinate your hands.

I'd also suggest since you just started and haven't locked yourself into anything yet to experiment a little bit with using your fingers and nails. I come from a guitar background, but I've found that the ukulele seems to lend itself much easier to fingers than a pick. Strum down with the back of your index. Up with the thumb. Watch the videos. Soak in as much as you can.
It will be kind of awkward at first, much more so than a pick, but will eventually open up greater possibilities later on as you master the instrument and have all those fingers to play with.

I've never played the guitar before and I just started the uke a few days ago. When you're using a pick, are you supposed to just shake your right hand continuously up and down, hitting and missing the strings depending on the rhythm you want? and what do you call that? strumming? stroking?