Koaloha vs Pono ding ding?

Thebiggreen007

Reaction score
Time to upgrade:
I have been playing uku for 4 months and I have played several different ukus, including the Koaloha and the Pono. I like the tone of both. I like the way they both play? Does anyone have experience with either one or both of these? (Stupid question, I know) What are your views of long-term enjoyment of these instruments? Koaloha KTM-00 Tenor vs PONO UKULELE TENOR PRO CLASSIC ROSEWOOD
Suggestions: Or other ukus in the range of 1000.00
Thank you for any advice.

Pono Tenors are magic, but KoAloha Tenors are awesome! :cool:

KoAlohas are magic for those that love particularly thin necks.

Ponos are magic for those that love particularly thick.

Well I've had both. And I liked both. I still have two Pono Pro Classics and sold the Koaloha. The Ponos tend to be less expensive than the Koaloha. They are very different. I sold the Koaloha because I have other ukes and the Koaloha did not fit a unique niche for me whereas the Ponos do. If I were going to have one "good" tenor I'd pick a Koaloha over a Pono, in part because it is more traditional. But for me I'd go with a Kamaka over a Koaloha. A bit more expensive but worth it to me.

one is made in Hawaii and the other not in Hawaii, if the pono has a radius fretboard ill go for that one if it was me, of course both sounding good. I would look for a used custom in that price range.

I have a few of both. They are all awesome, each brand with its own distinctive sound and feel.

The KoAloha people are really caring and have a great track record when it comes to customer service.
Maybe the Pono folks are too, but I personally haven't heard/read much about them.

Tough choice, but whichever you chose, I'm sure you'll be satisfied.