PDA

View Full Version : So I can't chicken out

DownUpDave
03-25-2015, 01:11 PM
I had started a thread a few days ago about my one year anniversary with the ukulele. I appreciate all the well wishes and kind words, it was very nice. As I stated making music is new to me as I am not a trained musician of other instruments.

I am making my virigin solo performance on stage tonight at our uke jam. There are usually 60 - 80 people in attendance so even with a friendly crowd it is still intimidating.

I am posting this so I don't chicken out between now and 8:00 pm tonight. Figured if I made it public I could not back out.

Excuse me while I go throw up :p

Down Up Dick
03-25-2015, 01:14 PM
Good for you, DUD1! Get down! Break a leg! :old:

Debby
03-25-2015, 01:17 PM
Just relax, don't forget to breathe. Remember that you are there to have fun. If you happen to make a mistake, it's ok, just keep going. Good luck!!! You should have someone record the performance so that you can watch it. Then, post it, on YouTube, so we can all enjoy it. :)

Photojosh
03-25-2015, 01:18 PM
Kudos to you!

deschutestrout
03-25-2015, 01:31 PM
Awesome! You'll do great. And a key thing to remember when you're playing live is: you hear/know of mistakes that are totally transparent to the listeners. They're gonna dig it!

Hippie Dribble
03-25-2015, 01:51 PM
Enjoy the ride brother. They gon' love you. :)

DownUpDave
03-25-2015, 02:01 PM
Thanks everone you have been a huge help. Got my ukulele and I am heading out the door.

Ukulele Eddie
03-25-2015, 02:41 PM
With a similar lack of musical background, I can completely identify with you. I did an open mic at a uke festival and was shaking like crazy. I knew people would be encouraging/supportive, but was still crazy nervous (irrationally so). I ended up loving it and was happy I did it. So, good luck and enjoy!!

Icelander53
03-25-2015, 03:13 PM