So I can't chicken out

DownUpDave

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I had started a thread a few days ago about my one year anniversary with the ukulele. I appreciate all the well wishes and kind words, it was very nice. As I stated making music is new to me as I am not a trained musician of other instruments.

I am making my virigin solo performance on stage tonight at our uke jam. There are usually 60 - 80 people in attendance so even with a friendly crowd it is still intimidating.

I am posting this so I don't chicken out between now and 8:00 pm tonight. Figured if I made it public I could not back out.

Excuse me while I go throw up :p

Last edited:
Just relax, don't forget to breathe. Remember that you are there to have fun. If you happen to make a mistake, it's ok, just keep going. Good luck!!! You should have someone record the performance so that you can watch it. Then, post it, on YouTube, so we can all enjoy it. :)

Awesome! You'll do great. And a key thing to remember when you're playing live is: you hear/know of mistakes that are totally transparent to the listeners. They're gonna dig it!

With a similar lack of musical background, I can completely identify with you. I did an open mic at a uke festival and was shaking like crazy. I knew people would be encouraging/supportive, but was still crazy nervous (irrationally so). I ended up loving it and was happy I did it. So, good luck and enjoy!!

I'm not holding you to anything. If you are comfortable or if you want a challenge then I say go. But if you feel overwhelmed then I say no. Follow yer gut on this one. I'm envious that you have a group to play for. I can't seem to find other uke players around here. :(

Well I see that you are out the door so good luck and I'm waiting for the report. You rock Dave. (you also bob up and down)

You'll do fine Dave. You have come a long ways since you started, and along the way provided much encouragement and advice to the rest of us. We're all pulling for ya!!!