ukulele parts

chuck in ny

Reaction score
i'm thinking of building a couple of instruments. of what's out there a kanilea concert and baritone would be good choices. on the other hand a load of ash is coming into the shop this summer, so the minimal wood content would be essentially free, and it would remain to source the parts of which i have only a dim idea.
your recommendations for tuners, they could be gotoh, or they could be a good grade open geared tuner, or a premium grade open geared tuner, then there is fret wire, hopefully parts made in countries with labor standards. also your recommendations for the vendor.

I'm no expert on ukulele building, and you may want to post in the luthier's forum if you want to hear from people who actually build ukuleles.

I have built two instruments: one guitar and one bass, both fretted scratch builds starting with raw lumber. I made a lot of mistakes.

Parts suppliers - easier now than ever.
- Stewart McDonald is a great source for everything instrument making. www.stewmac.com
- Amazon has nearly everything at every quality level. You can get lower quality tools if you plan to build one or two, then upgrade to the good stuff from StewMac.com once you decide to build many instruments with higher quality.
- eBay has nearly everything. Maybe not today, but eventually. Keep looking, bid and bid again. Watch out for parts that ship from the far east - you may wait a while for shipping. Or go back to Amazon and StewMac and just buy it already.

I hope that helps.

Where are you getting your ukulele plans? Mostly I'm concerned about top bracing.