PDA

View Full Version : Can I string my baritone with tenor strings?



ukulelefatman
03-08-2009, 07:27 PM
Just wondering if it's possible....are they long enough?.....will too much tension be a problem?
I was thinking of trying it with a set of tenor aquila's, and tuning GCEA.

Anyone tried?

Does anyone make GCEA strings for baritone?

Thanks in advance for your help, criticism or vulgar verbal abuse.

Eric

Kanaka916
03-08-2009, 07:31 PM
Aquila (http://elderly.com/accessories/items/ANBP.htm) has a set with GCEA tuning . . .

salukulady
03-08-2009, 07:46 PM
No, too tight. But it is a great way to tune your baritone and not have to transpose. And it works fine with the correct set of strings.

http://www.ukuleleworld.com/baritone/

Go here....buy a C set.

ukulelefatman
03-08-2009, 07:46 PM
Thanks....I searched and didn't see any....then went to Musicguymic's ebay store, and found em'.
On the way......thanks mike.

ukulelefatman
03-08-2009, 08:00 PM
I loaned my baritone to my nephew to learn on, he's doing well and wants to jam with his uncle.
I figure this will save a lot of transposition headache, make it easier to teach him with my concert...and also allow him to play along with the video lessons here and elsewhere.

I'm sure in a week he'll be dreaming of a tenor kamaka....just like his uncle:shaka:

Thanks again for the replies.


Has anyone tried the GCEA aquilas for baritone? What did you think?

Dino
03-08-2009, 10:29 PM
It can be done. Did it. Not a big deal. You get a little deeper tone but not like "oh mama, oh wow" kind of a difference. If you are going to do it, use all nylon strings. No wound strings.

SinisterDom
03-09-2009, 08:26 AM
I loaned my baritone to my nephew to learn on, he's doing well and wants to jam with his uncle.
I figure this will save a lot of transposition headache, make it easier to teach him with my concert...and also allow him to play along with the video lessons here and elsewhere.

I'm sure in a week he'll be dreaming of a tenor kamaka....just like his uncle:shaka:

Thanks again for the replies.


Has anyone tried the GCEA aquilas for baritone? What did you think?

I use Aquila GCEA strings on my Lanikai bari. I think they make it sound great.

PoisonDart
03-09-2009, 10:46 AM
If you're looking to play along with your nephew I would just say that it sounds amazing to play a c tuned uke with a g tuned bari-uke.

the chords aren't hard to learn, and you can get a lot of technique by mixing up uke videos with guitar videos.

ukulelefatman
03-09-2009, 05:56 PM
Yeah, playing the baritone properly tuned will be in our future jam sessions....but right now I'm teaching him basic chords...and don't want to spin the poor kids head around:confused:

mmanalo
03-09-2009, 08:22 PM
Thanks....I searched and didn't see any....then went to Musicguymic's ebay store, and found em'.
On the way......thanks mike.

Mics ebay store is great, he does have some good deals and looks like he offers what others don't. I'm waiting for my order right now as we speak!

ukulelefatman
03-19-2009, 06:02 AM
Got my Aquila's from musicguymic. The baritone sounds awesome in GCEA :)

I got em' all stretched out now,so they don't require tuning every 2 minutes....ready to start jamming with my nephew.

Man....this baby is LOUD now!!



Eric

glp
04-27-2009, 07:27 PM
What about low g strings for a baritone?

ukeshale
04-28-2009, 01:22 AM
I can't believe i didn't see this thread. i posted in another section on someone else's thread. sorry to jump on but - can i string my soprano with concert strings?? this'll be my first string change and i got gifted some so i wanna try them out