From ukulele to guitalele

bobcline

Reaction score
Ive been playing ukulele for about 4 years and I'm getting really nice tunes out of it. Ive never played guitar before. Well I fiddle around with them every now and then, I know some basic chords thats about it… anyway, I like how guitars go much lower than ukes (I have a low g just so you know) but I prefer the size of ukuleles (mine is a tenor size Luna hightide).

The otherday I saw the guitalele. I want one, I think they're brilliant. And the look so good. But will it take another 4 years to become as good with it? I understand how they are tuned, pretty much its a tenor uke with two more bass strings A, D, G, C, E, A
But 2 more strings could (for all I know) take a long time to get used to.

So before I cough up $300, I want to know if I'll be able to learn it well. So what are your opinions?

Thanks a great deal ;-)

The two additional strings will be different, for sure, but I think it is totally doable. If you've stayed interested in the ukulele for four years and you really want to try the guitalele, chances are that you will be successful in your pursuit. If you have a good attitude and want to work at it, I bet you will do well. Maybe purchase a guitalele with a return policy, so you can send it back in a week or so if it just doesn't float your boat.

Guitalele is Yamaha's brand name and it retails for $99. There are other variations by other makers that cost more with solid tops.

I have the Yamaha, and while I think it's quite well made at its price point, I find the neck too cramped and narrow to be really comfortable. My background is in classical guitar, so I prefer some separation to be able to fingerpick, not have my fingers getting in each other's way.

Have you considered a baritone uke? It is tuned like the top four strings of a guitar DGBE) so it has a lower range than a tenor uke.