Most useful tuning for fingerstyle

PeterF

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the ukulele but have been playing fingerstyle guitar for around 5 years. I've also built a few guitars and now that I'm getting more into this instrument, I thought I'd build myself a uke too. Now, I'd like to concentrate mostly on fingerstyle type songs and have found that many are in low G tuning. I want to build it with the tuning in mind from the start because of intonation issues with dropped tunings, and I don't really want to be changing strings all the time.
So basically which tuning do you find yourself playing in the most - low or high G?

Or am I totally overthinking it with the intonation issues? I know guitars have problems, but I don't know about ukes.

Or I could just build 2... :D

Hi, I'm new to the ukulele but have been playing fingerstyle guitar for around 5 years. I've also built a few guitars and now that I'm getting more into this instrument, I thought I'd build myself a uke too. Now, I'd like to concentrate mostly on fingerstyle type songs and have found that many are in low G tuning. I want to build it with the tuning in mind from the start because of intonation issues with dropped tunings, and I don't really want to be changing strings all the time.
So basically which tuning do you find yourself playing in the most - low or high G?

Or am I totally overthinking it with the intonation issues? I know guitars have problems, but I don't know about ukes.

Or I could just build 2... :D

I, too, have played fingerstyle guitar for a few years and just started ukulele about two months ago. I use a low G and don't notice any problems with intonation. Right now, only playing my new (to me) Pono all solid mahogany tenor.

Or I could just build 2...
... you know you will anyway ;)

In the meantime, will you be playing primarily from conventional notation or from tab?