First singing lesson today.

Rllink

Reaction score
I started playing the uke a little over a year ago. I'm teaching myself, using books, internet resources, and a couple of ukulele festivals to steer me along. I'm pretty happy with my progress. I think that I'm turning into a pretty good ukulele player. I'm not satisfied just to strum away at chords and do some fingerstyle, I want to be the whole package. I want to stand on a street corner and let it all out. So I've been singing too. But my singing has not progressed as well as my playing. My wife, who is a singer, and who used to perform on stage, has been suggesting that I take lessons from her old voice coach from back in her performing days. So at this point I'm at a loss. I don't even know what to work on. I bit the bullet. I have my first voice lesson this afternoon.

Ok, it was fun. I found out, after going through some breathing exercises, that I have over two octaves range, and I hit all the notes as we went through the scales. So that is a very good start, and quite a bit more range than I thought that I was capable of. But I think that just the breathing exercises helped. Also, keeping my mouth open helped a lot too. He had me singing into a mirror so that I could watch to see. That helped a lot more than one would think. But all we did today was go up and down scales. My coach was very happy, and next week I'm to bring my ukulele and some music with me. Music with music, not just lyrics and chords. Sounds like Daily Ukulele will work for that. I paid for a block of four lessons, which was his suggested minimum.

That's probably what we should all do. It's strange that we won't pay $30 for a music lesson, but we will plunk down $400 for another ukulele that we can't really play.

I guess stuff like that is what makes life interesting. :eek:ld: