Kamaka hf2 owners or custom made owners.

Rod Searle

Reaction score
Iam really in a quandary regarding my upgrade from a laminate.
My choice will be a Kamaka hf2, or a custom made Barron River
Mahogany concert, the Kamaka is about $250 higher in price.
Due to my location Iam unable to check them out, so Iam getting
as much info as I can from you guys and gals before I lay my
money down. I would appreciate your thoughts.

I live in Singapore and have little access to the best ukes out there.

I have bought seven ukes from HMS and I have never been disappointed. Get a Kamaka from HMS.

I've been playing for 6 years and one of the first ukes I bought was a Kamaka HF-2. I still play it every day - I think they're great ukes. If you can't buy one in person, buy from a reliable dealer like HMS; I doubt that you'll be disappointed. Can't speak to the custom as I'm unfamiliar with the maker, but I will say that I like my HF-2 better than many of the customs I've encountered (including one I re-homed).

At least in the USA, Kamaka has a much higher retained resale value than custom ukuleles. This is generally true.

Greetings Rod,

I have owned an HF-2 since 2011. It has always been a great ukulele. When purchasing, it came down to about a one hour back & forth session between the HF-2 and the other K brand concert (after eliminating a few other brands through playing at Hilo Guitars). The sound and playability of the Kamaka is what made me finally choose the HF-2. I have a few ukuleles of various sizes/brands, but truly enjoy the HF-2.

Kamaka HF-2.jpg

As Janeray1940 mentioned, first choice would be to try one in person. If that isn't possible, I'd definitely recommend the folks at HMS as well.

Hope this helps a bit

Tenor or concert question aside, those Baron River instruments are beautiful and I wouldn't even consider the Kamaka, if I were in your shoes (and I've played dozens of Kamakas and not one Baron River).