understanding string thicknesses

UkuLincoln

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to ukulele (6 months). I play many hours ever day, so I'm thinking it should be time to change the strings.

I was looking at trying a different type than the Aquillas that came on the ukulele. I was looking at Worth, but am confused by all the different thicknesses.

I've read a bunch of threads on this forum about strings, but am still confused. I feel like I like the tension on my concert, but my soprano feels a bit floppy when I strum. Would putting thicker strings on the soprano make the strings feel tighter when I play?

Thanks,

Lincoln

I was initially confused by all the string stuff, too. Sopranos will have less string tension than concert, which in turn will have less than tenors (assuming same tuning). Still, they needn't be floppy. You might try Southcoast which uses a tension guide (all string sets are 30" so they fit all sizes). Since you want more tension, you want the little do-hickey in the chart for the 13" scale to be in the middle of the green or toward the red (toward blue would be lower tension). I often use the Light Gauge (LU) and have not found them too floppy (used to be called Light Mediums).

I have also frequently used Aquila Red (they are not for everyone, admittedly) and Living Water, which are both excellent as well.

Fortunately, strings are inexpensive and since they can have a big impact on your instrument's sound, I suggest trying several different types. No need to wait until they need to be changed. You can always elect not to trim them so they can be re-used if you pull them off after a day or three. ;-)

With as much as you're playing, you'll be running up the learning curve!

Often you'll see somewhere on the string set the tension listed, high or low or whatever. Especially if they have lots of sets.