First Attempt - 25 Torpedo Cigar Box Soprano

Vic D

Reaction score
Long time lurker here. I bought a Stewmac soprano kit but decided that since this is my first attempt at building an instrument I would use up some cheap material. The box is a 25 Torpedo cigar box and I added the sitka spruce top. The neck is poplar as close to quarter sawn as I could find from Lowe's. The veneer on the peghead is from a strip of wood inside the cigar box. I have no idea what kind it is but it's some sort of redwood I suppose.
Anyway here are some photos. The neck was what scared me the most but it was actually very fun to carve and I'm surprised how well it's coming together. I'm working on a maple fretboard, shaping the heal, adding a rosewood heal cap, binding, final sanding and shaping.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. This isn't only my first instrument build, it's my first woodworking project ever... well after the work table I had to build.

Last edited:
You're right, it's just a little thicker than the mahogany top that came in the Stewmac kit. I have some scraping and sanding to do to the top. I'm using the wagner safe-t-planer and a hand held belt sander for now, but in the future I'm going to build a thickness sander for sure. I suppose if I'm careful I can scrape and block sand it down to just the right thickness.
Oh yeah, I braced it just like the Stewmac kit, Two spruce across and a flat maple under the bridge.
I have some redwood sides ready for my bending station which consists of a 3" aluminum tube in a jig with a 200 watt bulb and beside that a 400 degree curling iron with constant heat supposedly, for the small bends.

Last edited:
And hey Thanks! for the complement! Your work is awesome!

i love the shape of that cigar box!
I second that. By gosh, it even looks like an ukulele!

It would be great if you can make it into a fair sounding instrument as well. Keep us updated!